Jan Scholten

0.5.3 Discussion Phases

Division 7
Most clades are divided into 7, for example the Fabidae are divided into 7 orders. Each order is again divided into 7 families. In most cases the 7 groups are given by the Apg classification. Sometimes there are more or fewer groups. In those cases some groups have been split into 2 or 3 groups, for instance the Asparagales are split in Orchidales and the rest of the Asparagales. Sometimes groups, or families, are taken together.
The 7 Phases have a similar quality to that of the stages of the Carbon series and Silicon series. But they are a bit more abstract. I’ve named them Phases in order not to get confused with the 18 Stages. The numbers are not running parallel.

Division in 8, effectively 7
One can divide a group in a number of subgroups: 2, 3, 4.0
, 7, 10, or 100. In this book the basic division is in 7 groups. The number 7 is connected to the idea of a process, the cycle of life and death. We find the number 7 also strongly in the periodic system of the elements. There we see the 7 series, rows of the periodic system. And we see the 7 columns, especially in the 2nd and 3rd row, the Carbon and Silicon series. The number 7 seems to be given by nature here. Originally the division was in 8, as there are 8 columns in the Carbon and Silicon series. But the last column, Phase 8 or Phase 0, is a kind of denial state, a denial of what exists. It seems to be that this Phase does not exist in the Plant kingdom. It seems to be that only positive expressions are developed in nature. We see a similar thing happening with the series, the rows of the periodic system. There we see only 7 series as series, 8 or 0 does not exist.

Divisions in 2, effectively in 1
In the periodic system we also see a division into 2 in the Hydrogen series. We could even say it is only one division when we leave out Phase 0. Then there is no real division, things are just seen as one. This happens frequently in the Apg classification, for instance the order of Acorales has only one family, Acoraceae. It is especially apparent in the introduction clades: Amborellales, Acorales, Arales, Ceratophyllales, Halogarales.

Divisions in 18, effectively in 17
The third division that we can see in a periodic system is that in 18 Stages, the 18 columns of the Iron and Silver series. One can leave out Stage 18 or 0 from the 18 stages. 17 Stages are left. These 17 stages are used to differentiate the members of families.

Divisions in 32.
The division in 32, the one we see in the Gold and Uranium series will not be used for the Plant kingdom.

Other divisions.
One could argue that divisions in 3, 12 or 24 would give better results. It is my experience that the divisions in 2, 8, 18 work fine. One reason for this is that they are given by nature. We can see that in the Periodic system. The mathematical formula behind the periodic system, the Schrödinger equation, leads automatically to those divisions of 2, 8 and 18 and 32. So the above divisions are more general than just limited to the Mineral kingdom and can easily be used for the Plant and Animal kingdom.