Jan Scholten

Element Theory

The Element theory is explained in "Homeopathy and the Elements". It is a classification of homeopathic remedies according to their place in the Periodic table of elements. The periodic table has 7 rows and 18 columns.
The Element theory is a strong theory that helped to confirm and expand the known Materia medica, to predict new pictures and to discover the essence of remedies.

Rows or Series
The 7 rows of the Periodic table are called Series. Each row is given a name of the most known element. Each series represents a basic life theme.
1. Hydrogen series: Hydrogen and Helium
2. Carbon series: elements Lithium to Neon.
3. Silicon series: elements Natrum to Argon
4. Iron series: elements Kalium to Krypton.
5. Silver series: elements Rubidium to Xenon.
6. Gold series: elements Caesium to Radon.
6a . Lanthanides are part of the Gold series.
7. Uranium series: elements Francium to Plutonium and further.

Each Series has its own theme, a field in life where it is expressed.
The Series and their themes are:
1. Hydrogen series: being, experiencing; fetus; timeless, spaceless; union.
2. Carbon series: identity, I; child; body, vitality, lust; money; value, worth, good and bad; touch.
3. Silicon series: relationship, spouse, friends, siblings; teenager; contact, talk, communication; love and hate; taste.
4. Iron series: community, village; work, duty; adult; routine, normal.
5. Silver series: society, culture, ideas; arts, science; ripe age; elite, special, wonder; hearing.
6a . Lanthanides: autonomy; self, own; deep; control, power, spiritual; vision.
6. Gold series: world; power; leader; responsibility; heavy, noble; elderly; vision.
7. Uranium series: universe; magic; old age; destruction; intuition.

The columns of the Periodic table are called are called Stages and numbered 1 to 18, starting from left to right. They are called stages because they are stages in a development. The Stages reflect the stages in the process of life, coming into existence, to full expression and then declining and disappearing again.
The Stages and their themes are:
Stage 1: start, begin; spontaneous, impulsive, unpredictable, manic; naive, childish, foolish.
Stage 2: observing, observed; timid, shy; passive, refusal; adapting; bewildered, overdone.
Stage 3: searching, comparing; trying; understating; uncommitted.
Stage 4: deciding, staring, founding; committed; unsure; amased.
Stage 5: careful; unsure; preparing; avoiding, postponing; unsurmountable.
Stage 6: proving, challenge, daring; danger; inevitable; forcing; hiding.
Stage 7: learning, training, adding; complimenting; helping; together.
Stage 8: pushing, persevering; forcing; massive, huge; inertia, resitance.
Stage 9: examination, test; approval; call off; second, almost.
Stage 10: success, top, summit, glory; rigid, fixed.
Stage 11: maintaining, sustaining; benevolent, sharing; affluence, fortune.
Stage 12: defending; attacked, threatened, enemies; threatening, overdoing, exaggerating.
Stage 13: retiring, retreat, withdrawn; suspicious; nostalgia, homesick; moldy.
Stage 14: diverting, avoiding; powerless; form, formal, mask, facade; discharged, dismissed.
Stage 15: forgiving; loss, end; burning; poisoning; sacrifice.
Stage 16: neglecting, neglected; ruin, ash; ugly, dirt, offensive; seducing; reconciling.
Stage 17: erased, abolished; end; rejected; outcast; stealing, crime.
Stage 18: pause, rest, inactive; nonreactive, latent; transformation.

A theoretical discussion about its legitimacy can be found in "Homeopathy and Science" and "Homeopathy and Classifications". The themes of the Series and Stages can be applied in all cases and to all remedies, including from Plant and Animal Kingdoms. The themes of the Series and Stages are universal and cover the whole scope of human experience.
The Element theory makes it much easier to go into the depth of cases and remedies. It helps to find the essence and this makes homeopathy much more fun, at least for me. It makes the application of homeopathy much simpler.