Jan Scholten

0.8.0 Phases and Subphases

One can see seven phases in almost any development. They are the seven phases of evolution. They represent the coming into being, growth, culmination and then going into decline and decay and oblivion in the end.
It must be kept in mind that the 7 Phases originate from the 8 Phases, like the 8 columns of the Carbon and Silicon series. But the last Phase, Phase 8 or 0, is the phase of denial. It is represented by the noble gases in the Mineral kingdom, the gases that do nothing, do not react with anything else. This Phase 0 do not exist in the Plant kingdom. It is similar to the 7 Series of the Periodic system: there is no Series 8 or 0.

They have in essence the same quality as the Phases. They are just a further refinement, a precision. The difference is that they are less basic. An example maymake this clear. Typha latifolia feels an outsider in his own family, “outsider” being Subphase 1 and “in his own stable family” being Phase 4. Alisma plantago feels an outsider, desiring to have a stable family. Here the states are turned around. The Phase is 1, so he feels basically like an “outsider”. The Subphase 4 indicates the “desire to have a stable family”.

The 7 Phases represent an evolution of belonging to something, to a group. The basic theme is the desire to belong to a group, a system that gives reassurance.
In the first Phase there is a desire to belong to a group but it has the feeling that it is not possible yet. It feels that one is still an outsider.
In Phase 2 one feels only half belonging to the group. The belonging is insecure and can be broken at any moment.
In Phase 3 one feels as if belonging to the group but it is with constraints. It feels that one has to give, adapt or give up parts of oneself in order to be accepted.
In Phase 4 one feels really belonging to the group, being at the centre of the group. One feels responsible for it.
In Phase 5 one feels part of the group but the group feels like a kind of limitation. They feel that there is more to life than just the group. They want more of life, want to expand the possibilities.
In Phase 6 one feels as if one can be exiled very easily. It feels like one only partly belongs to the group. The group can exile one at any moment. It feels unfair, that they have a right of to be part of the group but despite that they will be exiled.
In Phase 7 they feel like an outcast. They feel that they are out of the group and do not have any right to exist in the group.

Phase 1 and 7 have in common the theme of an outsider. They both feel not belonging to the group. They like to belong to the group but see it as impossible. The difference is that Phase 1 never belonged to the group, so they feel like a stranger, a newcomer. Phase 7 has belonged to the group and is thrown out. So they feel like an outcast, rejected, banned.

Phase 2 and 6 have in common that they are half part of the group. They belong to the group but their position is unsure. Phase 2 is just accepted as part of the group and has to work for his position, fight to make his position worthwhile. Phase 6 has always been part of the group but threatening to lose it, as if he has done something wrong, as if he sinned against the group. Phase 6 feels there is something wrong with him or that others think there is something wrong. He has become dirty, spoiled, soiled.

Phase 3 and 5 are part of the group, at least mostly. But they feel a bit uneasy with it. It feels as if it does not fit completely with what they want. In Phase 3 this feels as if they have to adapt to be really accepted. They feel they are not allowed to be themselves. So they have the tendency to take on the desired behaviour. After some time they do not even know anymore if their behaviour is true to themselves or not, they get confused. Phase 5 feels that the group is too limiting to them. They want more, other things that the group cannot give. This gives tension and the desire to break out of the group.

Phase 4 is really in the group, in the centre. They feel at home and at ease in the group. They have the feeling of responsibility for the group. With that they have the tendency to take too much space. They can become demanding on others, expecting others to behave the same as they do.

Shame is especially present in Phase 2 and 3, whereas guilt is especially present in Phase 5, 6 and 7.

The desire to belong to a group is expressed differently according to which series is involved.
Hydrogen series: life.
Carbon series: parental family.
Silicon series: friends, peer group, spouse, marriage.
Iron series: village, tribe, school.
Silver series: culture, country, religion, science.
Gold series: world, humanity.
Uranium series: universe.

The idea of a group can be abstract. For instance, in the Silver series it can be the desire to belong to a group of respected scientists. In general it is a desire to be respected, to be seen as a good and great person.

Differentiation Phases
The Phases represent more a kind of perception and feeling as such. The Stages have more the aspect of action. They represent how the situation has to be handled. There is also a perception connected to it but the action aspect is the strongest in the Stages.